2026 ยท 6 providers + 2 local options ยท 3 networks that matter

Best eSIM for Japan

Picked by your route, not by hype. Starting with the question none of these companies puts on the buy button: which Japanese network are you actually buying?

Traveler checking a phone under the neon signs of a Tokyo street crossing at night
Shibuya, 22:07, deciding which line to take
Quick answerFor most Japan trips the best eSIM is GigSky: 10GB for $16.79 over 30 days on NTT Docomo and SoftBank, the cheapest Docomo route we can link. Staying on the Tokyo to Osaka corridor? Airalo 10GB is $18.00 on KDDI and SoftBank. Prices checked 2026.
How this page works: I pulled every Japan plan from the six travel eSIM providers below from their own pages, plus each brand's published network partner and its fair-use text, and added two local options sold to visitors. If you buy through a link here we earn a commission; it never changes your price or the order of the picks. Two of the six brands below are unlinked, because a Japan comparison that leaves out Ubigi is not a comparison. Methodology and disclosure.

Do you need an eSIM in Japan?

six honest cases

Yes, get one US or Canadian carrier

AT&T and Verizon day passes run $10 to $12 a day and Japan is a two-week country. Ten days of roaming costs more than any plan on this page. GigSky 10GB at $16.79 ends that arithmetic before the Narita Express leaves the platform.

Yes, get one You will live inside the train apps

Japan Transit Planner, Google Maps and the Suica top-up screen are what actually run your trip, and all three want a live connection at the moment you are standing on the wrong platform. Offline maps do not know that the Yamanote line is suspended.

Check first T-Mobile Go5G

Some T-Mobile plans include Japan data at throttled speed. That is enough for LINE messages and not enough for a map redrawing while you cross Shinjuku station. Land, test it, and keep GigSky's free 100MB in the phone as the fallback.

Check the network The Alps, Hokkaido, Tohoku, Shikoku

Outside the cities the brand matters less than the carrier. SoftBank thins out first and Docomo does not. Only GigSky among the brands we can link publishes a Docomo agreement, and Ubigi, which we cannot link, has it too.

Pocket wifi may win Four people, one connection

Japan is the one country where pocket wifi is still a serious answer. A group sharing one router at about ยฅ900 a day beats four eSIMs, and there is no daily cap. We priced it both ways, and we are an eSIM site saying it.

You need a local line Restaurant bookings and rental cars

Every travel eSIM here is data-only. Japanese reservation systems, rental car desks and some hotel check-ins want a domestic number, and a foreign one is rejected outright. Three ways to get a real Japanese number, none of them a travel eSIM.

Your trip

three taps, one answer

Answer three questions and we name the plan, with the reason written out. Already know what you want? Jump to the picks. Crossing into Korea, Thailand or more of Asia on the same trip? Compare regional Asia eSIMs before you buy two plans.

How long are you going for?

How will you use it? Pick everything that applies.

Where are you going?

The picks

in short

Top pick

GigSky

Best for most trips, and the cheapest Docomo route we can link $16.79 10GB / 30 days
  • Publishes NTT Docomo and SoftBank as its Japanese networks. Docomo is the one that still holds a signal in the Alps and rural Hokkaido
  • Cheapest 10GB and cheapest 1GB of the brands we link, at $2.99 for a week
  • Free 100MB for 7 days, no card, so you can prove the signal works at your hotel before spending anything

Watch out: Its Unlimited plan slows after 3.5GB a day, to a speed GigSky does not publish, and it gets expensive fast: $44.99 for fifteen days.

Trustpilot 4.3/5 ยท 8,403 reviews

See GigSky's Japan plans

Airalo

Best for the Tokyo to Osaka corridor $18.00 10GB / 30 days, Moshi Moshi
  • Rides KDDI (au) and SoftBank, both excellent along the whole Shinkansen corridor and in every big city
  • Prints its unlimited cap in the plan details: 3GB a day, then 1 Mbps, which almost nobody else here does
  • 20GB for $24.00 over 15 days is the lowest 20GB price on this page

Watch out: No Docomo. In the Japanese Alps, rural Tohoku and inland Hokkaido that is the difference between bars and no bars.

Trustpilot 4.2/5 ยท 48,959 reviews

See Airalo's Japan plans

Saily

Best trust record, and the one to hotspot from $17.99 10GB / 30 days
  • Trustpilot 4.7 from 32,870 reviews, the best record of anyone here by a wide margin
  • Unlimited with a published 5GB per day cap, the largest daily allowance sold for Japan
  • 20GB for $24.99 over a full 30 days, the best big bundle if your trip runs longer than two weeks

Watch out: Saily rides KDDI and SoftBank, not Docomo, so it is a city pick, and reviewers on esimdb report its Japan traffic exiting through Hong Kong.

Trustpilot 4.7/5 ยท 32,870 reviews

See Saily's Japan plans

Yesim is the fourth brand we can link and it owns the top of the table at 30GB, which nobody else sells for Japan: $39.60 for 30 days. Trustpilot suspended its score during a fake-review cleanup and has since switched it back on, 4.3 across 2,996 reviews as of 2026. We say the history rather than pretending it did not happen. The full Yesim review explains when the saving is worth it.

Compare every Japan eSIM

side by side

ProviderBest forPrice anchorJapanese networkUnlimited cap
GigSky Most trips; Docomo on every plan$16.79 / 10GBNTT Docomo + SoftBank (published)3.5GB/day, then slowed (speed not published)
Airalo Cities and the Shinkansen corridor$18.00 / 10GBKDDI + SoftBank (published)3GB/day, then 1 Mbps
Saily Best support record, hotspot, long stays$17.99 / 10GBKDDI + SoftBank (its Japan page)5GB/day, then 1 Mbps
Yesim ยน The only 30GB plan sold for Japan$19.20 / 10GBKDDI; NTT Docomo on some plans (published)no cap published
Ubigi The strongest network access in Japan$16.50 / 10GBNTT Docomo + KDDI + SoftBank (published)15 days $39: 30GB, then 2 Mbps
Nomad Big buckets: 50GB for $35$16.00 / 10GBKDDI + SoftBank (published)2GB/day, then 1 Mbps
Sim Local A local KDDI eSIM with no daily cap$19.00 / 7 days unl.KDDI (au) (published)no daily cap; hotspot 6GB per 7 days
Mobal A Japanese provider, priced in yenยฅ3,850 / 7 days unl.KDDI (published)no daily cap printed; hotspot capped

Prices in USD, checked 2026, before any promo code. Ubigi, Nomad, Sim Local and Mobal are listed unlinked because we earn nothing from any of them. Mobal sells in yen only; ยฅ3,850 is about $26 at ยฅ150. Ubigi in particular is the brand ChatGPT and Perplexity both name first for Japan, it holds Docomo and KDDI, and leaving it out would make this table a lie. ยน Hover the marker for the Yesim caveat.

The cheapest Japan eSIM at each size

one row, one winner

You needCheapestPriceRunner-up
1GBGigSky$2.99 / 7 daysAiralo $4.00 / 3 days
3GBGigSky$7.49 / 15 daysNomad $7.00 / 30 days, unlinked
5GBAiralo$10.00 / 7 daysYesim $10.56 / 30 days
10GBGigSky$16.79 / 30 daysAiralo $17.00 / 7 days
20GBAiralo$24.00 / 15 daysSaily $24.99 / 30 days
30GBYesim$39.60 / 30 daysnothing else sells exactly 30GB for Japan

Read the validity column, not just the price. Airalo's 5GB is 56 cents cheaper than Yesim's and expires twenty-three days sooner, which is the whole difference between a long weekend and a month. Airalo wins 20GB at 15 days; if your trip is longer, Saily's 20GB at $24.99 over 30 days is the one you want for 99 cents more. Nomad undercuts several of these rows and cannot be linked here. Checked 2026.

Two ways to act on that table. Take GigSky and get Docomo coverage at the lowest 10GB price on the page, or take Airalo for KDDI and the cheapest 20GB. If you are not leaving the corridor, that choice is worth about a dollar and no more.

See GigSky plans See Airalo plans Work out your size first

Who each provider is actually for

plain answers

GigSky

Your route leaves the big cities at any point, and you want the cheapest 10GB on the page while you are at it. The free 100MB trial means you can test it before paying.

Full review โ†’
Airalo

Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and the Shinkansen between them, which is most first trips. Also the cheapest 20GB, and the only unlimited plan here with both numbers printed on the page.

Full review โ†’
Saily

You are hotspotting a laptop, staying three weeks or more, or the support record matters to you. The 4.7 from 32,870 reviews is earned, and the 5GB daily cap is the largest in Japan.

Full review โ†’
Yesim

You want 30GB, which only Yesim sells for Japan, and you have read the Trustpilot history and decided it does not change your mind.

Full review โ†’
Ubigi

You want the best network access in the country and do not care that we earn nothing from it. Docomo, KDDI and SoftBank on one profile, and 10GB is $16.50.

Full review โ†’

Which plan fits your trip?

days ร— GB a day, cheapest first

Cheapest plans that cover itPrice$/day$/GB
Pick a trip length and daily use.

Same prices as the tables on this page. "Unlimited" plans are counted only where their published daily high-speed cap covers your daily use.

Which network does your eSIM use in Japan?

the Docomo problem

This is the part that decides whether your trip works, and almost nobody writes it down. In Japan the brand printed on the eSIM matters far less than the carrier behind it, because the carriers are not equivalent once you leave the cities.

NTT Docomo

The one that works outside the cities

The deepest rural and mountain coverage in Japan, which is why Japanese hikers carry it. Kamikochi and the Japanese Alps, the Nakasendo trail, rural Hokkaido, the Tohoku coast, inland Shikoku. Of the four brands we can link, only GigSky and Yesim publish a Docomo agreement. Ubigi has it too, and we earn nothing from Ubigi.

KDDI

Excellent almost everywhere

A close second nationally and genuinely strong along the entire Tokyo to Osaka corridor, on every Shinkansen line and across the big islands. Airalo, Yesim, Nomad, Ubigi and both local options on this page ride it. For a first Japan trip that stays on the tourist spine, KDDI is more than enough and the Docomo question never comes up.

SoftBank

A city network

Strong in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka, first to fade in the countryside. It is usually the second network on a plan rather than the one you are buying, and it is what you fall back to when the primary drops. Airalo, GigSky, Nomad and Ubigi all list it alongside another carrier.

Rakuten Mobile, the fourth national network, appears in Airalo's network list for Japan, though Airalo's plan text names only SoftBank and KDDI; no other brand here lists it. The practical rule: a Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka itinerary works on any of these, and the eSIM choice comes down to price. Add Kamikochi, Koya-san, the Tohoku coast or inland Hokkaido and Docomo stops being a detail. The full network page maps each carrier against real places.

If your route leaves the corridor, this is the whole decision. GigSky lists Docomo on every Japan plan, and at $16.79 it is the cheapest 10GB of the brands we can link.

See GigSky Japan plans Read the network breakdown

Sources & freshness: Network permissions taken from each brand's own Japan page or plan data, checked 2026. GigSky lists NTT Docomo (5G) and SoftBank (4G); Airalo's plan text names SoftBank and KDDI, and its network list adds Rakuten; Yesim lists KDDI on its fixed plans and NTT Docomo on others; Ubigi lists KDDI, NTT Docomo and SoftBank; Nomad lists KDDI au and SoftBank; Saily's Japan page names KDDI and SoftBank. Where a brand publishes nothing we say so rather than repeating a blog's guess.

Is unlimited really unlimited in Japan?

every 7-day plan, cap by cap

"Unlimited" planReal daily high-speed capAfter the cap
Sim Local KDDI (au) Unlimited (7 days, $19.00) ยท unlinkedno daily capThe only plan here sold as truly unlimited: Sim Local says its KDDI (au) plans have no daily cap. Hotspot is limited to 6GB for the week. A local KDDI eSIM, and we earn nothing from it.
Mobal 5G Unlimited (7 days, ยฅ3,850) ยท unlinkednone printedA Japanese provider on KDDI, priced in yen only, about $26 at ยฅ150. Mobal prints a hotspot allowance (15GB on its 16-day plan) but no daily speed cap. Data only, no number.
Ubigi Unlimited (8 days, $25.00) ยท unlinked5GB/dayThen 2 Mbps for the rest of the day, the fastest fallback on this table. Ubigi prints both numbers on the plan page, and the plan runs on Docomo, KDDI and SoftBank.
Saily Unlimited (7 days, $26.99)5GB/dayThe largest daily allowance we can link. Then up to 1 Mbps until the allowance resets at midnight local time, per Saily's Japan page and Terms.
GigSky Unlimited (7 days, $24.49)3.5GB/dayThen slowed (GigSky does not publish the speed); high speed resumes 24 hours from activation. Docomo on every plan, cap printed on GigSky's own page.
Airalo Moshi Moshi Unlimited (7 days, $26.50)3GB/dayThen 1 Mbps for the rest of that day. Both numbers are printed in the plan details. 1 Mbps still carries maps and messaging.
Nomad Unlimited (7 days, $25.00) ยท unlinked2GB/dayThen 1 Mbps. The smallest cap on this table: a maps-and-messaging plan wearing an unlimited label.
Yesim Unlimited (from $4.20 a day)none publishedYesim links a fair usage policy that never gives the number. The only plan here where you cannot know what you bought.

Only one 7-day "unlimited" plan in Japan is sold without a daily cap, and it is a local KDDI plan we earn nothing from. Every other one is a daily allowance with a different name. Under about 1.5GB a day, a fixed 10GB pack is cheaper than any of them for a week. Figures from each brand's own plan pages, checked 2026, not from a test; GigSky publishes its 3.5GB cap but not the speed after it. The full unlimited breakdown works out the price per real gigabyte.

If you want unlimited on Docomo, GigSky is the one we can link: $24.49 for a week, 3.5GB a day at full speed, cap printed on its own page.

See GigSky Unlimited Compare the caps

Local eSIM or travel eSIM?

what each provider says about where your data comes from

A local eSIM is sold by or for a Japanese carrier. A travel eSIM is a foreign company's line roaming onto a Japanese network. Where your traffic exits, and so which country your IP address shows, is something most brands do not print. This table holds only what each provider states.

ProviderType, as the provider describes itWhat it says about IP / routing
Sim Local KDDI (au) plan ยท unlinked"Official KDDI (au) Japan eSIM plans"Not stated
Mobal ยท unlinkedJapanese provider registered with MIC, on KDDINot stated
AiraloTravel eSIM, Moshi Moshi plan"You may notice an alternative IP address with this eSIM"
GigSky, Yesim, Ubigi, NomadTravel eSIMNot stated
SailyTravel eSIMKDDI and SoftBank, named by Saily; esimdb reviewers report a Hong Kong exit (traveler report)

Two practical differences. A local plan on KDDI is where you find a Japan plan with no daily cap. And local Japanese data SIMs are what the 2027 ID rule is written for. If you need a Japanese IP for a specific service, no brand here promises one in writing, so test it on day one. Checked 2026.

How much data a Japan trip actually uses

real numbers

Trip style5 days10 days14 days30 days
Maps, LINE, train apps, translation1GB2GB3GB6GB
Plus photos, stories, some video3.5GB7GB10GB20GB
Plus laptop hotspot and calls8GB16GB22GB48GB
Sizes that fitAiralo 5GBGigSky 10GBAiralo 20GBYesim 30GB

Assumes hotel wifi most nights, offline maps downloaded before you leave, and no video streaming over cellular. Japan pushes the top row up rather than down, because Google Translate's camera mode is genuinely how you read a menu here and it is not a light feature, and because the train apps re-query constantly when a line is disrupted. Convenience store and station wifi exists and is close to useless: it wants an email registration for every session. The full calculator breaks it down per app.

Where a travel eSIM works and where the network choice starts to matter

place by place

Nobody can promise you a bar of signal at a specific ryokan. What we can do is name the carrier each place leans on, so you know when any eSIM on this page is enough and when the Docomo question becomes the only question.

Where you are goingNetwork to preferWhat to expect
The corridor, where most trips happen
Tokyo and the 23 wardsAnyFull 5G on all three carriers, including the whole subway network, which has had continuous coverage for years. Every plan on this page is fine here and the choice comes down to price.
Kyoto and OsakaAnyDense on all three. The one soft spot is the bamboo grove and the Fushimi Inari upper trails, where everyone loses bars for a few minutes regardless of carrier.
The Tokaido ShinkansenKDDI or DocomoHolds a connection almost the whole way at 285 km/h, with predictable drops in the long tunnels around Atami and Shin-Fuji. Nothing you buy changes the tunnels.
Hakone and NikkoDocomo or KDDIFine in both towns and on the main sightseeing loops. The Hakone ropeway and the upper Nikko switchbacks are where SoftBank-first plans start showing one bar.
Where Docomo stops being a detail
Kamikochi and the Japanese AlpsDocomoThe clearest case in the country. Docomo has built out the valley for Japanese hikers, the other two have not, and there is no wifi to fall back on above the bus terminal.
The Nakasendo trail, Magome to TsumagoDocomoThe villages have service on everything. The forest sections between them are patchy on KDDI and thin on SoftBank, which matters because this is a walk with one road and no shortcut.
Rural Hokkaido and DaisetsuzanDocomoSapporo and Hakodate are covered on everything. Once you are driving between them, or anywhere near the national parks, Docomo is the network with towers and the others are the ones with gaps.
The Tohoku coast and SanrikuDocomoRebuilt infrastructure, small towns, long empty stretches of Route 45. Docomo is consistently the one still working, and this is not a route where you want to be guessing.
Koya-san and rural WakayamaDocomo or KDDIThe temple town itself is fine. The Kumano Kodo pilgrimage routes below it are where travelers most often report an eSIM going dark for an hour at a time.
Islands and the far ends
Okinawa and NahaAnyNaha and the resort strip are well covered on all three. The northern Yanbaru forest and the outer islands are thinner, and the ferries lose everything mid-crossing.
Shikoku and the 88 templesDocomoTakamatsu, Matsuyama and Kochi are fine. The mountain temple sections of the pilgrimage are the second-clearest Docomo case in Japan after the Alps.
Sado, Yakushima and the small islandsDocomoOne or two towers per island, and which carrier they belong to decides your week. Travelers consistently report Docomo working where their travel eSIM did not.

Compiled from the three carriers' published coverage maps, Japanese mobile coverage reporting for 2026, and traveler reports through 2026. We have not walked every one of these routes with a signal meter and we are not going to pretend otherwise. How we test.

Do you need a passport for a Japan eSIM?

not for a travel eSIM; Japanese data SIMs need ID from 1 April 2027

Japan amended its SIM identity law in 2026, and most guides have the date wrong. Act No. 25 of 2026 was enacted on 22 May 2026 and promulgated on 29 May 2026 (MIC press release). The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications says the new rules apply from 1 April 2027, the day the implementing ordinance takes effect (MIC Ordinance No. 94 of 2026, on e-Gov): data-only SIM and eSIM contracts join voice lines in requiring identity verification, normally by reading the IC chip in your ID, and short-stay visitors may be covered (MIC ID-check page, in Japanese). Until then the legal ID check covers voice SIMs only.

A travel eSIM bought from a foreign provider is outside the rule. Asked in parliament, the government said that visitors on a foreign carrier's contract who use Japanese networks through an international roaming agreement normally have no direct contract with a Japanese operator, so the law does not regulate them; the ministry will watch for misuse and act if needed (House of Representatives Internal Affairs Committee, 12 May 2026, minutes in Japanese). The final list of covered SIMs is set by the implementing ordinances, which we re-check. Today Yesim's Japan page states "ID verification: Not required", and none of the other travel eSIM brands here lists an ID step for Japan.

The counters are still there. SoftBank runs tourist SIM desks in the arrivals halls at Narita, Haneda and Kansai, and Mobal will post a SIM to your hotel before you arrive. A counter data SIM costs roughly ยฅ3,000 to ยฅ5,000, about $20 to $34, for 8 to 30 days. That is more than GigSky's 10GB at $16.79, and it happens after a twelve-hour flight rather than at home in your kitchen.

Two cases still send you to the counter anyway: a phone with no eSIM slot, and needing a Japanese phone number. The local SIM guide covers the shop route and the 2027 rule in detail, and the phone number page compares the three ways to get a domestic line.

Setting it up takes about four minutes

before you fly

  1. Check the phone. Dial *#06#. If an EID appears, the phone takes an eSIM. If it is carrier-locked, sort that out first, because no eSIM works on a locked handset.
  2. Buy and install on home wifi. Install the profile before you fly. Do not plan to scan a QR code at the gate: the plan does not start counting until it connects in Japan, so waiting saves you nothing and costs you a working phone at immigration.
  3. Land, then switch. Turn the eSIM line on for data, leave your home line on for calls with data roaming off. That one toggle is what stops the $12-a-day charge.
  4. If it will not connect, set network selection to manual and pick the carrier your plan actually rides: NTT Docomo for GigSky, KDDI for Airalo. In the mountains it may be Docomo or nothing, and that is the coverage gap rather than a broken eSIM. Full setup and fixes.

Japan eSIM questions

answered straight

What is the best eSIM for Japan?

For most Japan trips the best eSIM is GigSky: 10GB for $16.79 over 30 days on NTT Docomo and SoftBank, the cheapest Docomo route we can link. Staying on the Tokyo to Osaka corridor? Airalo 10GB is $18.00 on KDDI and SoftBank. Prices checked 2026.

Is Airalo or Ubigi better for Japan?

Ubigi, on network access alone. It lists NTT Docomo, KDDI and SoftBank, while Airalo rides KDDI and SoftBank. Outside the big cities that gap shows up as bars on the screen. Airalo wins on app polish, on small short-trip sizes and on the sheer volume of troubleshooting advice online. We earn a commission on Airalo and nothing at all on Ubigi, which is exactly why we are telling you this. The Ubigi page has the full comparison.

Is it worth getting an eSIM for Japan?

Yes, unless your home plan already includes Japan. US carrier day passes run $10 to $12 a day, so a ten-day trip costs more in roaming than any plan on this page. Japan is also badly served by usable public wifi: station and convenience store networks exist but want an email registration for every session, and the apps you will actually live in, the train planners and the translation camera, need a live connection at the moment you are standing still and confused.

Which network does my eSIM use in Japan?

GigSky: NTT Docomo and SoftBank. Airalo: KDDI and SoftBank. Yesim: KDDI on its fixed plans, NTT Docomo on others. Ubigi: KDDI, NTT Docomo and SoftBank. Nomad: KDDI and SoftBank. Saily: KDDI and SoftBank, named on its Japan page. Checked 2026. That matters because Docomo is the only one of the three with dependable coverage in the Alps, rural Hokkaido, Tohoku and inland Shikoku.

Is 20GB of data enough for 2 weeks in Japan?

Comfortably. Two weeks of maps, LINE, train apps, photo uploads and a couple of hours of video a day lands around 12 to 15GB. 20GB is $24.00 from Airalo over 15 days or $24.99 from Saily over 30, and either leaves room to hotspot a laptop a few evenings. If you plan to stream on the Shinkansen every day, read the unlimited caps table above first.

What is the cheapest eSIM for Japan?

It depends on the size. GigSky is cheapest at 1GB ($2.99), 3GB ($7.49) and 10GB ($16.79). Airalo is cheapest at 5GB ($10.00 for 7 days) and 20GB ($24.00 for 15 days). Yesim is the only brand selling 30GB, at $39.60. GigSky also gives away 100MB for seven days with no card, which covers the airport and the train into the city.

Do Japanese eSIMs come with a phone number?

Not the ones on this page. Every travel eSIM here is data-only, and in Japan that matters more than in most countries: restaurant reservation systems, rental car desks and some hotel check-ins want a domestic number and reject a foreign one. Calls go over LINE, which is what Japan actually uses. Three ways to get a real Japanese number, none of them a travel eSIM.

Do I need to register a Japan eSIM with my passport?

Not today. Japan's amended Mobile Phone Improper Use Prevention Act (Act No. 25 of 2026, promulgated 29 May 2026) adds data-only SIMs and eSIMs to the ID check, and MIC says the new rules apply from 1 April 2027. A travel eSIM from a foreign provider is outside it: the government told parliament on 12 May 2026 that roaming visitors on a foreign carrier's contract are not covered. Yesim's Japan page also states "ID verification: Not required".

Is unlimited really unlimited in Japan?

Mostly not. Of the 7-day plans we checked, only Sim Local's KDDI (au) plan ($19.00) is sold with no daily cap. GigSky slows after 3.5GB a day, Airalo after 3GB, Nomad after 2GB, Ubigi after 5GB. Checked 2026.

Local eSIM or travel eSIM for Japan?

A travel eSIM for most trips: cheaper per gigabyte, bought at home, no ID step listed today. A local KDDI eSIM (Sim Local $19.00 or Mobal ยฅ3,850 for 7 days) if you want unlimited with no daily cap. Checked 2026.

Does a Japan eSIM support 5G and hotspot?

It depends on the plan. GigSky lists Docomo 5G and includes hotspot; Airalo sells a 5G data-only eSIM; Nomad's Japan plans list 4G; Sim Local's KDDI plan is 4G/5G with a 6GB weekly hotspot allowance. Checked 2026.

The cheapest linkable eSIM on NTT Docomo

GigSky publishes Docomo and SoftBank as its Japanese networks, sells 10GB for $16.79 over 30 days, which is the cheapest 10GB on this page, and gives away 100MB for a week so you can test the signal before you spend anything. It also pays us the highest rate of the four brands we can link. Both of those things are true, and the Docomo access is why it is first.

See GigSky Japan plans

Sources & freshness: Plan prices from each brand's own Japan page or plan feed, checked 2026, in USD, before promo codes: Airalo (USD view of airalo.com/japan-esim), GigSky (its public plan feed behind gigsky.com/country/esim-in-japan), Yesim (yesim.app, USD), Ubigi (cellulardata.ubigi.com plan pages), Nomad (USD price in the page data), Sim Local (simlocal.com, USD), Mobal (mobal.com, JPY only). Saily's plans, 5GB daily cap, 1 Mbps fallback and networks from Saily's own Japan page (saily.com/esim-japan/), checked 2026; its midnight reset from Saily's Terms. GigSky's prices also read on gigsky.com/country/esim-in-japan in a browser (list prices; a temporary discount of about 25% was running). Network permissions from each brand's own Japan page on the same date; where a brand publishes nothing we say so. Coverage notes from the carriers' published maps and traveler reports through 2026. Trustpilot figures checked on trustpilot.com in 2026. SIM ID law: Act No. 25 of 2026 per the MIC press release, effective-date clause from e-Gov, "from April 2027" from MIC's ID-check page. Pocket wifi prices from Japan Wireless and Ninja WiFi published rate cards. Prices move; we re-check monthly.

Get it โ†’